Left Turn: So Real It Hurts   Leave a comment

Manissa McCleave Maharawal, “So Real It Hurts: Notes on Occupy Wall Street”
Left Turn, October 4, 2011

Let me tell you what it feels like to stand in front of a white man and explain privilege to him. It hurts. It makes you tired. Sometimes it makes you want to cry. Sometimes it is exhilarating. Every single time it is hard. Every single time I get angry that I have to do this, that this is my job, and that it shouldn’t be my job. Every single time I am proud of myself that I’ve been able to say these things because I used to not be able to and because some days I just don’t want to.

This all has been said by many, many strong women of color before me but every time, every single time these levels of power are confronted it I think it needs to be written about, talked about, gone through over and over again.

Read more

Posted October 6, 2011 by unpermittedla in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

